BEAST // 12시 30분 [12:30]

2NE1 // 아파 (Slow) [It Hurts (Slow)]

2NE1 // Missing You

2NE1 // If I Were You

빅뱅 (Big Bang) // Haru Haru [Day by Day]

빅뱅 (Big Bang) // LOSER

WINNER (Taehyun) // I’m Young

Epik High // Spoiler

BTS // Let Me Know

Taeyang // Wedding Dress

B.A.P // Rain Sound

* * *

[NOTE]
This is more of a “feels trip” of different sorts than a legit broken-hearted playlist. Also, I was supposed to post this around Valentine’s Day but I never got around to how I really wanted to write this post, so I just opted to a straight and simple list with a little ranting hehehe.


It’s almost that day of the year again when consumerism brings out its plastic princess tiara and rules over everyone and everyone’s distant uncle and his SO (significant other)–le 14 février, la fête des couplesoui, c’est correct: Valentine’s Day.

Obviously, I don’t have someone to call as my SO but just because that’s the case doesn’t mean I’m going to be all bitter and whiny and sad because I am single because there is literally nothing that’s fucking wrong with being single–as long as you’re happy.

Sure, you really can’t avoid the one or few disgusting couples on social media who really like to flaunt their #relationshipgoals when it’s not even goal-worthy, and they would definitely sour your mood. But you really can’t avoid people who are so disillusioned about the meaning of happiness that they think they’re the epitome of I-am-so-fucking-happy, but in reality, they’re just people who wore their rose-tinted glasses upside down. Not everyone is as…enlightened about the true single padawan’s joys as we are.

However, just because we are #TeamHalaman and we reject all forms of mainstream Valentine’s Day celebration doesn’t mean that we’re not allowed to totally feel anything at all.

Poets articulate the art and feeling of being in love in various ways. Some say it’s fluttery, like someone took a feather and tickled your insides; others describe it as a crushing, all-encompassing feeling, as if your heart is about to cave in.

I guess I like the latter one better, so I thought I’d go from that and create a playlist.

This isn’t a Valentine-themed Bitterella playlist, though it features quite a number of breakup/broken-hearted songs. Some of the songs are actually a bit hopeful and full of promises when it comes to love, so I guess I’m not that entirely jaded (yet).

It might sound weird, but I like the heart-crushing kind of songs. Sometimes it doesn’t have anything to do with the lyrics but with the quality of the vocals (Park Bom, Kang Daesung, Yang Yoseob and Jang Hyunseung, etc.) although well-written lyrics (Epik High’s Spoiler) really make my heart go doki doki with the sheer pretty. I hope I can successfully share these f e e l s with you (and that you won’t judge me for being such a dork lol). I thought of introducing more Korean pop into my playlists, and instead ended up with a list of pure Kpop. But it works, because one of the things I like the most about the few Korean groups I fangirl over is their dedication to lovely vocals.

That, and the ah-mazing music videos. ❤

Anyway, here are two songs whose lyrics are beyond A+ with their metaphors.

 

BEAST // 12시 30분 [12:30]

“Right now,
we’re like the clock hands at 12:30
Our backs turned against each other, looking at different places,
about to throw everything away”

Source: 12시 30분 – BEAST

 Epik High – Spoiler

Your cold eyes and words are the spoiler
In your every action, I see our end
I tell myself it’s not true but I feel the spoiler
Should I watch till the end? Or should I leave now?
What if there’s a twist?

Source: Spoiler – Epik High

Lastly, Nam Taehyun gets a final spot feature in this post because he is my little bubu.

I’m Young is a pretty recent release, only a month or so ago since YG Entertainment threw it to the thirsty fans and left us all sobbing uncontrollably.

It’s a specialty of Taehyun to write very adult-themed lyrics–surprising for someone his age and someone who’s the maknae (youngest) in their group. Yang Hyun Suk, their CEO, once asked him if he has had experience about these “very adult” things lol.

What I like about YG (discounting his unfair favoritism that always shows in his overall treatment and project distribution to his artists) is that when he delivers, he really delivers.

The music video was fucking A++, 10 stars, would definitely cry over as if I were in a loop. Here’s the last bit, Taehyun’s I’m Young. Go ahead and say it didn’t hurt even a minuscule bit, I DARE YOU.


Featured photo by Thomas Brault via unsplash.com

Leave a Reply

